The Book of Skulls

The Book of Skulls

A Victorian tale of gender-bending, hidden identity, obsession and gruesome murder, set in Edinburgh's Old Town.

1875. Liz Moliette; a poor orphan of unknown heritage, and Amulya Patel; from a wealthy Indian family, are the only female students at the Edinburgh Medical School, where a hostile attitude towards women is driven by Professor Atticus. However Liz and Amulya have allies in fellow student Campbell Preeble, The Reekie reporter Hector Findlay and the charming Dr Paul Love.

In dire need of funds, Liz becomes assistant to gruff lecturer and police surgeon Dr Florian Blyth. When a series of grisly murders take place the doctor and Liz help Inspector Macleod in his investigation, which leads to the Edinburgh Asylum, the Burry Man festival and the quack science of phrenology

The search for the killer comes dangerously close to Liz as she uncovers her own family secrets.

This first book in the Doctresses series launched on 24th April 2020. Order on:

Where Will I Make My Nest?

Where Will I Make My Nest

Children's picturebook adventure about a hen looking for a place to make a nest.

Set in the small crofting community of Assynt (in NW Sutherland), the story interweaves the modern and ancient. Seordag is a metal hen with a TV set body. On her quest to find a place to make her nest, Seordag encounters a helpful seagull, a cow-fiddle, an accordian sheep, a talking cement mixer and Marlene, the hardy crofter. Seordags’ new friends help her to make a fabulous hen house where she lays three eggs. They hatch into mobile phone chicks and they have a grand ceilidh.

Gaelic and English versions now on Amazon.

Broken Bow

Broken Bow

Book 2 in the Seordag Stories series

Set in the small crofting community of Assynt (in NW Sutherland), the story interweaves the modern and ancient. When Blarag the Cow Fiddle breaks her bow Seordag the TV Hen enlists her chicks and friends to find a way to help. Can the chicks win a contest and buy a new bow and can Flossie the Flying Sheep get them there in time?

Available at

More outlets and Gaelic version coming soon.

Storm Hags

Storm Hags

Kirsty and Angus are embarking on a family sailing trip around the world when their parents disappear in a storm and their boat, the Marianne, is shipwrecked. Marooned on the hidden island of Gruinsoye they discover a land full of mystery and menace. A cult of psychics using ancient technology living side by side mythical beings. What should have been the experience of a lifetime suddenly turns into a struggle for survival and escape.

Free ebook download on Smashwords

Paperback on Lulu

Support independent publishing: Buy this book on Lulu.

The Golden Grain

The Golden Grain

A selection of fiddle tunes composed by Joan Hutchison of Lochinver, Assynt. Available on Lulu.

Read By Dawn

Read By Dawn

The Sutherland King; a dark tale of shortbread, is included in this anthology.

Available on Amazon.

Bucketful of Frogs

Bucketful of Frogs

The Achiltibuie Stone is included in this anthology.

Available on Amazon.

Original Artworks

If you would like to enquire about purchasing an original artwork ask for details via my email info(at) or use the Contact Form.


Prints and other merchandise in my Redbubble Shop.

Limited edition Giclée prints at Scotland's Artists website.



Comedy/horror 83 mins. A filmmaker and her estranged daughter are coerced by an island laird to try and remove a family curse. Inspired by the kidnapping of South Korean film director Shin Sang-ok and his wife Choi Eun-hee who were forced to make films for North Korean dictator Kim Jong-Il and the legend of the celtic demon the Baobhan Sith.

For more info visit Baobhan Sith website

Graders indie feature film


Graders is a mystery chiller starring Joanna Kaczynska , Greg Drysdale, Agnieszka Bresler and Janet De Vigne.

For more info visit Graders website